40th Annual WBFH Pledge Drive


The Bloomfield Hills School District’s radio station WBFH, also known as The Biff, will begin broadcasting its 40th Annual Biffstock pledge drive at 8 a.m. Friday, March 18 and will continue until midnight.  Biff radio students will be collecting money and pledges from listeners in the community to help underwrite radio station enhancement expenses.

“Biffstock is a fun event for the radio students and it gives listeners a chance to support community radio with their donations” said Biffstock 2016 Chair Andrew Brown.   All 18 Biff students from Bloomfield Hills High School will be scheduled for a one-hour shift during the total of 16 hours of live programming that day. Pledge drive information can be found on the station website wbfh.fm.  Listeners can also follow the station on Twitter (@TheBiff881), on Facebook (WBFH 88.1, The Biff) and on the free Biff Radio app.

Something new this year is the live performance of one of the radio station’s shows called Motor City Static which airs Sunday nights from 9-midnight with hosts Ron Wittebols, Chuck Riffenburg and Jeff Hazard. The live show is scheduled to start in the auditorium March 18th at 7 p.m. and the admission is free.  Performing will be local rock bands Those Hounds and Eyes on Damascus as well as nationally-known comedian Mark Sweetman. Headlining the concert will be vocalist Sofi K who released her debut album, LoveHate, last November. Biff students will be featured during the show in skits, parodies and trivia contests.

Those who donate receive donor announcements aired on the station and their names are listed on the station website. Listeners who would like to be an underwriter can do so by calling (248) 341-WBFH or clicking on the Donate Now link on the station’s website.

The Biff can be heard at 88.1 and 89.5 on the FM dial, online at wbfh.fm and on the free Biff Radio app. The community radio station is supervised by the WBFH management team of General Manager Pete Bowers and Assistant Manager/Technical Director Ron Wittebols.

WBFH has been honored recently with both national and state recognition.   The Biff won 1st Place, Best High School Radio Station in a national competition entitled The John Drury High School Radio Awards last November. WBFH was named the 2015 Michigan High School Station of the Year by the Michigan Association of Broadcasters Foundation last year.


Subject to Change Comedian (2nd Place Promo) // Evan Sacksner - 2015 John Drury Award Winners
  1. Subject to Change Comedian (2nd Place Promo) // Evan Sacksner - 2015 John Drury Award Winners
  2. Selective Service (Honorable Mention PSA) // Jason Silverstone, Evan Sacksner, Mitchell Salhaney - 2015 John Drury Award Winners
  3. Parental Sportsmanship (3rd Place PSA) // Kent Davis - 2015 John Drury Award Winners
  4. Music Program Cuts (3rd Place Newscast) // Jaron Kirshenbaum - 2015 John Drury Award Winners
  5. Internet (3rd Place Promo) // Kent Davis - 2015 John Drury Award Winners
  6. High School Radio Day (Honorable Mention PSA) // Jonah Lopas, Foster Stubbs - 2015 John Drury Award Winners
  7. Congress Gets an “F” on Climate Change (3rd Place News Feature) // Evan Brook - 2015 John Drury Award Winners