WBLD 89.3 and The Biff Radio Network Team Up to Broadcast Basketball Game

On January 28th, 2016, West Bloomfield High School had their first varsity “purple out” at the Coaches vs. Cancer basketball game, benefiting Relay for Life of West Bloomfield. 89.3 WBLD LAKES FM teamed up with the Biff Radio Network for the first time ever to broadcast a live play-by-play as the Battle of the Bloomfields played out on the court while fighting the battle against cancer! Calling the game was Dave Scott of West Bloomfield Civic Center TV and Foster Stubbs and Pete Bowers of the Biff. In what turned out to be an exciting game, the Black Hawks ended up winning by two points. To hear the game, click on the podcast: http://civiccentertv.com/coachesvscancer/

WBgame2 WBgame3 WBgame5 WBgame4 Stoney1

WBgame6 Stoney2

Seven Biffers Named Finalists in National Competition

Seven Biff students have been named Finalists for 21 Golden Microphone trophies in a national high school radio awards competition sponsored by the Intercollegiate Broadcasting System (IBS). WBFH is a Finalist for Best High School Radio Station in the nation with three other stations. The awards will be presented to the Finalists at the 76th Annual IBS International Conference held in New York City March 4-6:

Best Public Affairs Program: Evan Sacksner “Mojo in the Morning Interview”

Best Public Affairs Event/Promotion: Harrison Parker “Music Man PSA”

Best Public Service Announcement: Harrison Parker “National Guard”

Best Sports Play-By-Play: Foster Stubbs and Dylan Wittenberg “MHSAA Class A State Championship”

Best Sports Talk Program: Foster Stubbs and Dylan Wittenberg “The SportsScan 11/23”

Best Sports Update: Foster Stubbs

Best Station Promo: Greg Margosian and Andrew Brown “Back to the Future”

Best Show Promo: Andrew Brown and Greg Margosian “The Breakdown/Better Half”

Best Show Promo: Evan Sacksner and Jason Silverstone “King Kong Breakdown”

Best Event Promo: Evan Sacksner, Jason Silverstone and Mitchell Salhaney “Biff Radio App”

Best Event Promo: Evan Sacksner, Greg Margosian, Foster Stubbs and Andrew Brown “Biff”

Best Liner/Sweeper: Harrison Parker “The Biff”

Best Station ID: Harrison Parker

Best On-Air Personality: Andrew Brown and Harrison Parker “The Better Half”

Most Innovative Program: Evan Sacksner “Rapper Name or Twitter Name”

Best Fundraising/Underwriting Campaign: Harrison Parker “Biff Fundraiser”

Best Website: WBFH (Greg Margosian, Webmaster)

Best Use of Social Media: WBFH

Best High School Radio Station: WBFH

Best Student Manager: Andrew Brown, WBFH Operations Manager

Best Faculty Adviser: Pete Bowers, WBFH General Manager

Evan Sacksner, Harrison Parker and Andrew Brown are Finalists in five categories; Foster Stubbs and Greg Margosian are Finalists in four categories; Jason Silverstone and Dylan Wittenberg are Finalists in two categories.

This is the first year that Biff students submitted entries to this national competition. All of the Finalists are posted on the IBS website: Link